Blind Contour

IMG_20130923_092241

            Today in class I did a blind contour drawing. I learned that in order to do a blind contour drawing I was not supposed to pick my drawing utensil up from my paper, and I was also prohibited from looking at my work as I completed it. I timed my drawing time with the different music that was playing. I started out drawing my left hand with my right hand. My first drawing was way too rushed and I did not take the time to really look at each curve of my hand. When I did the same drawing but took my time it came out a lot nicer. Next, I drew my right hand with my left hand (non dominant).I was already discouraged at the idea of drawing with my non-dominant hand. I was worried more about controlling my pen then I was about focusing on my task at hand.

 IMG_20130923_092248

            Next, I moved on to drawing the still life that was in front of me with a pencil. I definitely like drawing with the sharpie better because I feel as if I could really feel my movements better. I switched media when each song ended. The more abstract the music was the less I could focus on the blind contour. I think this is because of a right brain overload. I was already trying to think abstract and the uniqueness of the song made this even harder.

 IMG_20130923_100228

            I learned how hard it really is to draw without looking. I also learned more about how my right-brain works versus my left-brain. This was very important for me to learn in order to further my visual thinking journey. If I learn to over power my left-brain by using my right-brain I will become less judgmental of my work and I will be able to draw what I see and not what I know. This is a very important step in becoming a great artist.

IMG_20130923_100218

This is a picture of the notes that I took during our drawing session today. I really learned a lot about my own awareness to response. Overall i enjoyed this process and I am going to make a valid effort to keep everything I learned today in my mind when I am creating my next work of art.

Leave a comment